Just another B.A.M.F. typing away!

Hate the exercises, but love the results!

LOVE & HATE….. both 4 letter words but with two totally different emotions!

According to Wikipedia:
• Love is an emotion of strong affection and personal attachment.
• Hatred (or hate) is a deep and emotional extreme dislike, directed against a certain object or class of objects.

I was asked to participate in a blog share with some friends and this was the topic of discussion: 5 exercises I love to hate.

Well for most they enjoy training a specific body part for one reason or the other, usually because it either brings the most pain or pleasure. So here’s a rundown of the 5 pesky little exercises that make me want to drop kick em’ in the box!

1)Crossover Step Ups…..I’m sure without a doubt these are some form of torture in a small desolate country where they can’t hear you screaming! Yes it’s that awful to me…haha. Check out the YouTube video if you haven’t had the joy of experiencing this yet!
Upside: it will fire up every muscle fiber in your quad, glute and hamstring. <<>>

2) Walking dumbbell lunges >:-{ It’s not even like I have to do an obscene amount of these. I usually do around 4 sets of 10-12, but for whatever reason when I look at my training journal and see these up next I immediately become a wee bit helluva lot less excited, that is until I hit rep 12 of set 4. Then all is right in the world again!!!

3) Quad Blast…doesn’t it just sound like oodles of fun?!?
It’s a combination exercise that will guarantee you to walk with a lil hitch in your step! It consists of bodyweight squats, bodyweight lunges, bodyweight split squat jumps and bodyweight jump squats all lined up in a lovely row back2back!
Upside: TBD 😉

4) Split lunges or Bulgarian lunges. I think it’s safe to safe any form of lunges will get two thumbs down .

5) Hack Squat…another crowd favorite, if by crowd you mean evil little trolls. I think I was immediately turned off to these once I had to superset them with Romanian Deadlifts. I still remember that day ;(.

So it seems to be any lower body exercise including my quads, hamstrings or glutes will be a part of my LOVE 2 HATE list but oddly enough my legs are uber strong and solid. Heh go figure 🙂

Hate the exercises, but love the results!

I am not alone with loving and hating; check out what Alli, Kari, Tiffany, Dawn, Liz, Jennifer, and Colleen , Donloree love to hate!

6 responses

  1. lisasurvillas

    So funny…I love the Hack Squat!! I love squats though! I can’t go as far down as I’vee seen some of you ladies go because of my knee and hip, but I love to do them the best I can.

    April 9, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    • Well perfect then you and Kari can do ally lunges and squats for me!!

      April 9, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  2. Pingback: Healthiest Life 4 Me » Blog Archive » 5 exercises I love to Hate

  3. Hey there, thanks for these exercises – I read this post right before my leg workout and used the crossover steps up and quad blast as my finisher. Ow! But great! Thanks 😀

    Nic at The Fit Writer

    May 1, 2011 at 2:28 pm

  4. You’re welcome!
    I hope it hurts you just as much as it hurts me 🙂

    May 5, 2011 at 12:43 am

  5. Hello there! This article couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I will send this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very
    good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

    June 6, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

